Home > Sports > Clarendon Day 10k/5k, September 24, 2011

Clarendon Day 10k/5k, September 24, 2011

My race bib with the free pair of flip-flops

I finally got the chance to post my very first Clarendon Day 10k last September 21st. The race is an annual tradition in the Clarendon area of Arlington, VA to commemorate Clarendon Day (hence the name). This is also my very first race in the state of Virginia. The race is broken down into three main categories: the 5k run, 10k run, and kid’s dash. There is also another special event which is known as the double. The double is more of a chance given to runners who would like to compete in the 5k and 10k on the same day. The 5k race starts at 8:20 am with the 10k race to follow 40 minutes after. Thus for attempting a double, one runner should finish a 5k around 30 to 35 minutes (or roughly a 10minute/mile pace). Just in time to join the 10k.

The race itself is a very fast downhill and flat with a mild hill course along Wilson Boulevard from Claredon to Rosslyn then along Jefferson Davis Highway before going back to Rosslyn for the finish. The first two miles, which is almost a 200 feet downhill run, was very fast. I think I was able to run 2.0 miles in about 15 minutes or less. Once we reached Jefferson Davis Highway, everything is flat and easy. I never got the chance to register for this years Army 10-miler, but I still get to run past the Pentagon. As the saying goes, what comes down, must come up. I know it’s the opposite of the actual proverb, but the last 500 meters of the race is a mild climb to the finish.

Race Map and Elevation Chart

This link provides the video of my finish: http://results.bazumedia.com/athlete/index/e/820944 This only race image I got from the race. Super thanks to Bazu Media.

A BBQ Food Truck that features BBQ ribs setting up shop for Clarendon Day

The BBQ Pit setup by the Food Truck. The ribs looked so juicy good.

The post race festivities is great, even though I didn’t get to experience the most of it, I was still able to get a piece of the Clarendon Day experience. Every runner in the event gets a chance for a drink at Whitlow’s, Mexicali Blues, and Ireland’s Four Courts Bars. The drink tags are found on every runners bib. One can get more if you get your coupon or drink tag from other runners. I gave up mine to experience the sights of the Clarendon Day Festival by checking out the food stations, especially that food truck that featured some tasty BBQ ribs.

Of course, the freebies. Not much compared to the previous race I ran. However, the Clarendon Day Run gives away a free pair of flip-flops instead of the traditional t-shirt. I got some pretty good comments and likes when I posted the flip-flops on Facebook.

Overall, I enjoyed the race, which I originally intended to have it as a training run for my two upcoming fall half marathons, so I am really looking forward to running this event again.

Categories: Sports
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

