Home > Random stuff > What started the Random Asian Guy?

What started the Random Asian Guy?

Close friends, acquaintances, co-workers, etc., have asked me for years on why I call myself as the Random Asian Guy.  My answer has always been this, “if I let a stranger figure out my ethnicity, he/she will need up to five attempts to figure where am I really from.”

On a normal day, if someone asks me where I am from, I always let them take a stab.  It is very rare that they will guess it right the first time.  It’s usually the fourth or fifth attempt as they ran out of Asian countries to think off the bat.

The next part, their reaction.  He/She will say, “no way!, you’re not!, you don’t look like a Filipino!”  My response, “yes I am!”  The look in their eyes filled with disbelief… priceless…

Thus, if you pick a random country in Asia, specifically East Asia, I will likely pass.  It’s been proven on my travels or stop overs to Nagoya and Singapore as well as stops at Chinatown, Korea town, Vietnamese restaurants, Thai restaurants, etc. that locals speak to me in their native tongue.

I guess now you know why I call myself as “the Random Asian Guy.”

Categories: Random stuff
  1. roxanne
    September 23, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    haha that is so cool.. at least you wouldn’t try hard to pretend when needed.. i was being mistaken as Vietnamese too in one of my trips in Singapore.. there is certainly no foolproof way to tell people apart by sight..

  2. September 27, 2011 at 11:59 am

    Thanks for dropping by, and I am happy to meet a Random Asian “Gal.” 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

